Dear friends,

How was your experience with Hurricane Irma. I hope for you to share with us. As we all know Irma hit the Keys very hard, and although Miami-Dade and Broward only got a small part of Irma, almost a million were without electricity and many are still without electricity.  Thet West Coast may take another 10 days to get all power back.

I have to say, I am thankful because we did not get the category 5 hurricane that threatened us and we just did not have power, lost a few trees, and minor property damage to most.  (I cannot leave out long gas lines before and after the storm).

I just got power back at home last night (and none yet at the office) it was seriously an experience.  My four-year-old could not understand why the cell phone did not have “battery,” why didn’t I just plug in the “white cable”? Kids have the perfect solution. So, this was a week of learnings and teachings. I had not been in this heat since 2013 that I visited Cuba in July and I was concerned for my little one that is used to the very cold temperatures of the AC.

My concerns were not very well founded because my daughter did not complain about the heat, not once.  She was sweaty as can be but she was happy to have mom and dad home all day and all night. She was happy to sleep with mattresses on the floor by the back door with a fan . . . (thankfully we had a generator), and she drank cold water by the ton.

So, what’s there to learn? Lots.  Neighbors got closer and helped each other, supported and cheered each other. We were reminded of how spoiled we are with technology and electricity and all the comfort we enjoy on a daily basis.  These events remind us that we have to appreciate more and complain less 🙂

Please share your experiences! We all want to know . . .

From every experience, we learn . . . hope you are all safe by now. Danger is still out there with power lines down and traffic lights off, so be careful!  See you soon!

File Apr 05, 10 25 23 PM

Yahima Suarez, Esq.

Life Planning & Beyond

305-456-7158