As I grew up in Cuba we had no idea there was a holiday designated to give thanks. As we arrived to the United States in 1995, we started integrating ourselves to the American culture. This tradition we absorbed and enjoyed since our first year.

I had just started ninth grade, when Ms. Castro,  my ESOL teacher explained why Americans celebrated Thanksgiving, the history behind it and the food involved. Some of the major ingredients in the feast were not very common to me or my family, others were completely unknown.  Nonetheless, we celebrated our first Thanksgiving day in November of 1995.

To date, every year on Thanksgiving Day we gather the family together, as many of us as possible, and we share a delicious meal. For this one day in the year, we try to keep the table as American as possible. But what’s a holiday party without a flan for dessert?  It is just a splash of Cuban flare, we tell ourselves.

It does not matter what you do or what you eat or where you spend Thanksgiving Day, what’s important is to Give Thanks!

I give thanks this year for every single day of my life and for everything that has happened each one of those days. I give thanks for the best times and for the not so good times, as those are the ones who have made me grow and be stronger. I give thanks for my family and for my daughter!  I give thanks for my life.  I give thanks  for the opportunity to help others protect themselves and their families. What are you giving thanks for?

I wish you have loads to give thanks for, as all we receive through life is gift!

Happy Thanksgiving Day!

Yahima Suarez
Yahima Suarez, PA
Legacy & Estate Planning for your Family!

Yahima Suarez
Yahima Suarez, J.D. Estate Planning for your Family